Skip to Main Content
Chat now
Sgwrsiwch nawr

Life Sciences & BVSc Veterinary Science: Books and E-books

Books and E-books

To find out if a specific book is available in the Library, visit Primo and sign in.  In the search box enter one or two key words from the title and the surname of the author. When the search results appear you can choose to click Books in the Tweak my results menu on the left to display results for books only or filter to match your own criteria. 

Available

If the book is available to borrow, Primo will state this information giving the floor location and classmark details. 

On loan

If the book is not available to borrow and on loan to another user, Primo will state this information.

Recalling a book 

You can recall a book that is on loan. For instructions on how to recall (request) a book that is on loan with another user, see FAQ 814.

Online access

If the item is available in electronic/online format, Primo will state this.

To search for books/e-books or journals/ejournals keep the search as Libraries (the default search). This search will look for:

  • physical items in campus libraries: books, journals, newspapers, pamphlets, DVDs,e-books, e-journals and other electronic information sources to which AU subscribes (searches for ebook/ejournal titles not individual chapters/articles within).

The Library Collection lockers are located on Level D of the Hugh Owen Library.  These lockers provide contactless, secure checkouts for books, equipment and other requested items. Library users will be informed by e-mail when requested items are ready to be collected from the lockers.

You will need your Abercard to access the lockers. 

Users can choose to collect items from an accessible height locker. How can I request that my books are placed in an accessible height library collection locker?

A chapter digitisation service has been introduced to support your studies.

More information on the service and the online request form can be found https://www.aber.ac.uk/en/is/library-services/digitisation/chapterdigitisation/ 

Here is an FAQ with details on how to request a chapter: https://faqs.aber.ac.uk/3069 

Aberystwyth University libraries subscribe to a wide range of e-books and e-book collections.

We have 1000s of e-books and our collection is regularly growing. You can access our e-books via Primo. In the search box enter one or two key words from the title and the surname of the author. When the search results appear you can choose to click Full text online in the Tweak my results menu on the left to display results for ebooks only.

If we have access to an electronic version of a book, the Primo record will state Online Access

  • All the e-books the library subscribes to can be found in the Primo Library catalogue.
  • Enter your keywords and when you see Online Access against the books you're after, select to either read online or download the entire book. 
  • Further instructions on how to access e-books from different platforms: How to access e-books 

Our extensive collections of electronic journals, databases and e-books are available to you 24/7 on and off-campus.

Before you start any searching off-campus: sign in to Primo

  • You know you have signed in successfully if your name displays at the top right hand of your screen.
  • You are now authenticated to access AU subscribed electronic resources. If you close your browser, you will need to sign into Primo again to re-authenticate.
CAB eBooks Current File (CABI) E-books on agriculture and the applied life sciences from CAB International
eScholarship Editions (University of California) UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004, includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics
Gale Reference Complete - E-Books (general collections)
Internet Text Archive The Internet Archive offers over 15,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts.
National Academies Press The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
Pennsylvania Online Books (all topics) 
  • http://onlinebooks.library.upenn.edu/ (Copy and paste URL into browser)
  • ‚ÄčListing over 3 million free books on the Web
Project Gutenberg
  • http://www.gutenberg.org/ (Copy and paste URL)
  • Project Gutenberg offers 59,500 free ebooks to download
ProQuest Ebook Central Use Ebook Central to quickly and easily find relevant ebooks and chapters

WikiSource

Wikisource is a Free Library of source texts which are in the public domain or legally available for free redistribution

Wiley Online Library