Life Sciences and IBERS: Databases, websites and other useful sources

Maps, both print and digital, can be a useful source of information across a range of different disciplines including agriculture, biological, earth and rural sciences.  Town and land maps can provide many levels of detail while historical maps can demonstrate development across the centuries.

• Digimap: a full & comprehensive Ordnance Survey map data and historic maps as well as geological data. You just need to have an Aberystwyth University email account to register to access Digimap.

  • Ordanance Survey

  • Historic 

  • Geology 

  • Environment 

  • Global

  • Society

  • Marine

• Global Change Master Directory

• National Library of Wales Map Collection

• National Library of Wales Maps Information Leaflet

• UK National Air Quality Archive

Aberystwyth University libraries request free site trials of online resources in response to enquiries from staff and students.

We also request trials of new resources that we think may be of interest and use in learning, teaching or research.

Please email librarians@aber.ac.uk after visiting any of the resource trials, describing briefly how the resource would be of use to you.

If you would like access to free library content after being contacted by an academic publisher, please forward the details to your subject librarian librarians@aber.ac.uk to ensure access is enabled.

Please note the end dates supplied.

•  AHDB  Agriculture and Horticulture Development Board

  • ​Delivers transformational projects to drive productivity and boost farming and supply chain businesses.  

• British Association of Sport and Exercise Sciences

  • professional body for sport and exercise sciences in the UK.

• British Society of Animal Science

  • The British Society of Animal Science works to improve the understanding of animal science and the ways it can help ensure food is produced ethically and economically.

• CGIAR Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research ​

  • ​ A global partnership that unites organizations engaged in research for a food secure future.

•  DEFRA Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs  

  • The UK government department responsible for policy and regulations on environmental, food and rural issues.

• DHSC Department of Health and Social Care

  • ​leading the nation’s health and social care to help people live more independent, healthier lives for longer.

• Environment Agency 

  • The Agency creates better places for people and wildlife, and support sustainable development.

• Farm Assurance Schemes (Government website)

  • These are schemes which establish production standards covering food safety, animal welfare and enviromnetal protection.

    • AHDB Assurance Schemes

    • Leaf Marque

    • Red Tractor Assurance

• Farmers Weekly Interactive 

  • Daily news of worldwide agricultural issues, a searchable news archive, details of forthcoming events, and DEFRA (Department for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs) press releases. Free access, but registration required

• FAO Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations

  • Copy and paste URL: http://www.fao.org/home/en/ 

  • Includes several databases with detailed statistics for production, trade and commodity supply and demand.

• Met Office 

  • The Met Office is the national meteorological service for the UK. We provide critical weather services and world-leading climate science, helping you make better decisions to stay safe and thrive.

• Met Office Library and Archive

  • ​The country's most comprehensive collections on meteorology.

• National Beef Association - NBA 

  • Identifies and promotes the highest possible levels of best practice thoughout the production chain.

• National Sheep Association  - NSA

  • An organisation that represents the views and interests of sheep producers throughout the UK.

• Natural Resources Wales

  • Natural Resources Wales ensures the environment and natural resources of Wales are sustainably maintained and used, now and in the future.

• Natural England

  • Natural England is the government’s advisor on the natural environment. They provide practical advice, grounded in science, on how best to safeguard England’s natural wealth for the benefit of everyone.

• NFU Cymru

  • NFU Cymru is the leading agricultural organisation for farmers in Wales.

•  NIAB National Institute of Agricultural Botany

  • NIAB is at the centre of innovation in crop science in the UK and across the world.

• NICE National Institute for Health and Care Excellence

  • provides national guidance and advice to improve health and social care.

• ODI  The Overseas Development Institute

  • The UK's leading independent think tank on international development and humanitarian issues.

• OECD  The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development 

  • Copy and paste URL: http://www.oecd.org/ 

  • Aims to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.

• Preparing Wales 

  • Brexit:  Environment, agriculture and Food

• Royal Agricultural Society of England

• Royal Welsh Agricultural Society

• Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons 

  • The Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons aim to enhance society through improved animal health and welfare.

• Soil Association

  • The UK charity campaigning for healthy, humane and sustainable food, farming and land use.

• UK Health statistics

  • Life expectancy and the impact of factors such as occupation, illness and drug misuse. We collect these statistics from registrations and surveys.

• World Bank 

  • The world's largest source of development assistance. Many full-text publications available.

Reference materials include encyclopaedias, dictionaries, directories, indexes, etc. These items are valuable if you wish to locate specific information or when you are starting to search for material on a chosen topic.

Here are a few examples of online material:

A conference is an event arranged by an organisation, society or institution where academics and researchers can present and discuss their work and is an important way to exchange and disseminate information. A conference paper is the text or presentation given at a conference. A collection of conference papers can be referred to as conference proceedings. 

Have a look at the following websites where you can search for conferences by subject area, date, venue and destination. You can also sign up to receive alerts and free email updates of events matching your interests. 

Conference Alerts  

Allconferences.com

Copy and paste URL: http://www.allconferences.com/