Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chat now
Sgwrsiwch nawr

Library support for Researchers: Keeping up to date

New books in the Library

Visit Primo to see a rolling display of newly-acquired books in Aberystwyth University libraries

Visit the New Books page to:

  • see a list of the books that have arrived most recently

  • search for newly-acquired books by arrival date, format and subject (Library of Congress classification)

  • set up an RSS feed so you'll receive a notification when a matching title to your search arrives in the Library

Newspapers

You can browse our collection of newspapers in the library or view the comprehensive collection of past and current newspapers we subscribe to online:

Aberystwyth University subscribes to e-resources which give you access to many UK and international newspapers. Access them by logging on to Primo where you can find a list of current and past news sources in E-resources A-Z, along with off-campus access information. 

Key sources from the Gale Reference Complete platform include:

News

Have a look through the following tabs to see the many ways you can keep up to date.

Image result for box of broadcasts

Box of Broadcasts

Keep up to date with radio and television news. Contains more than 60+ radio and television channels.

Here are our FAQs about BoB: https://faqs.aber.ac.uk/index.php?search=BOB 

Center for Research Libraries - Global Resources Network

Center for Research Library

The approximately five million newspapers, journals, books, pamphlets, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other resources held by CRL support original research and teaching. CRL holdings include materials from all world regions: Sub-Saharan Africa, Latin America, the Middle East, Central, South and Southeast Asia, North America, and Europe. While these shared collections are largely paper and microform, CRL provides online access to a continually expanding body of digital materials.

Gale Reference Complete 

  • This is a package with...
    • Over 28,000  periodicals including 4,595 titles from the  JCR Impact Factor Science list

    • Over 1,700 eBook editions (4,000 volumes) including award-winning encyclopedias and directories

    • Over 13 million pages of historical primary sources from the  13th to the 21st centuries

    • Over 1.5 million  items of literature criticism and  full-text literary  works

Gale Primary Sources

  • Digital historical documents from over 500 years of world history, curated by Gale and partnering libraries from around the world.

Gale Onefile News

  • Full text database including regional, national and international newspapers

Home

Online Newspaper

Thousands of world newspapers at your fingertips listed by country of region.

SciCentral Home

SciCentral

Gateway to the best science news sources.

ScienceDaily

ScienceDaily

Your source for the latest research news.

Image result for times digital archive 2012
 

Database containing The Times (London) complete digital edition from 1785- 2012. It contains every complete page of each edition of the paper, including headings, articles and images of all content - front pages , editorial articles, birth and death notices, advertisements and minor advertisements.

British Newspapers. UK Media Online.

UK National News

Every national and regional newspaper published online: dailies, weeklies and monthly magazines and broadcast media

Alert Services

Alerting services, also known as current awareness services or auto alerts, help you keep up to date with the latest developments in your field by notifying you when new information becomes available.

Subscribing to journal alerts, database alerts, and web alerts is a great way to stay up to date.

Journal alerts such as ZETOC or JournalTOCs will send you a table of contents of new issues of any journals you're interested in.You can also set up search alerts from many databases so that you are alerted by email whenever new articles matching your research interests are published.

Jstor

JSTOR 

Multi disciplinary archive of academic journals, books and pamphlets.

JournalTOCs

JournalTOCs is the largest, free collection of scholarly journals Tables of Contents (TOCs).

 

ZETOC Alerts

The monitoring and search service for global research publications.

More keeping up to date information

Have a look through the Keeping up to date webpage which has details on how platforms such as social media feeds, blogs and podcasts, professional associations, researchers social networks, academic mailing lists can be beneficial. 

Information Services Twitter feed