Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chat now
Sgwrsiwch nawr

Library support for Researchers: Resources for Research

Document Supply Service

The Document Supply Service allows registered users to request items which are not available in the University Library. ‚ÄčWe can support staff and students with research and learning by locating and supplying books, chapters, and articles held by other libraries. Information Services will cover the costs of the allocation for the different user groups in all academic departments, subject to available funds.

See how many free requests you can order and for further information visit the Document Supply webpage

Chapter digitisation

In response to COVID-19 and whilst access to materials in the library is limited, a temporary chapter digitisation service has been introduced.

More information on the service and the online request form can be found here: https://www.aber.ac.uk/en/is/library-services/digitisation/chapterdigitisation/ 

Here is an FAQ with details on how to request a chapter: https://faqs.aber.ac.uk/3069 

Contact the Academic Engagement team librarians@aber.ac.uk if you have any questions.

Some key databases

  • JSTOR  
    Multi disciplinary archive of academic journals, books and pamphlets. http://www.jstor.org/

  • Web of Science 
    Summaries (abstracts) of scholarly journal articles and dissertations in psychology and related subjects. You can check for the availability of full text articles by clicking on the '@aber' icon next to search results.
  • ScienceDirect 
    An information source for scientific, technical, and medical research
  • Business Source Complete contains access to over 3,000 journals. Covers all areas of business, including finance, management, management information systems, marketing and international business.
  • Computer Society (IEEE)
    "The IEEE Computer Society is the world's leading membership organization dedicated to computer science and technology. The Digital Library holds more than 550,000 articles and papers on computer science and technology."
  • Lexis®Library
    For key law and criminology resources

Gale OneFile News

Regional, national and world newspapers.

Zetoc 

Search and current awareness tool from the British Library to help you keep up to date with latest developments in your field. Zetoc can provide you with regular emails detailing table of contents from selected journals. http://zetoc.jisc.ac.uk/

Special Collections

There are a number of University special collections available for research access, such as the Celtic Collection (which is available for loan), the European Documentation Centre, the Appleton collection on colour printing and binding, and the Horton Collection of children’s material. There are also departmentally curated collections such as the E.G. Bowen Map Library and the School of Art Collections.

Explore the University’s Special Collections page or contact librarians@aber.ac.uk for further information.