Lifelong Learning: Books and E-books

A module reading list is usually a list of books and other information resources compiled by the module co-ordinator to support your study of a module.

Where can I find my reading list?

You can find the reading list for a module you are studying in Blackboard.

For 2022-2023 Reading Lists (for 2023-2024, see below)

• Visit the module in Blackboard and click the Reading List link in the module menu on the left-hand side
• In the page that appears click on the link to the reading list, and the list will open in the Aspire Reading Lists system

For 2023-2024 Reading Lists

• Visit the module in Blackboard and the Reading List will appear in the top six items within Course Content
• Click on the Reading List (pile of books image) and it will open in the Aspire Reading Lists system

Find out more about your Aspire Reading Lists.

You can also view your lists directly in the Aspire system at aspire.aber.ac.uk  

Enter the module code and/or name.

Find out more by visiting the Aspire reading list webpage.

If you are choosing modules for next year, or you are a prospective student, visit the AU modules pages and on any module page...

• click View in Aspire to see a reading list for a current module

• click View an example list in Aspire to see an example list for a module being taught in the future

To find out if a specific book is available in the Library, visit Primo and sign in.  In the search box enter one or two key words from the title and the surname of the author. When the search results appear you can choose to click Books in the Tweak my results menu on the left to display results for books only or filter to match your own criteria. 

Available

If the book is available to borrow, Primo will state this information giving the floor location and classmark details. 

On loan

If the book is not available to borrow and on loan to another user, Primo will state this information.

Recalling a book 

You can recall a book that is on loan. For instructions on how to recall (request) a book that is on loan with another user, see FAQ 814.

Online access

If the item is available in electronic/online format, Primo will state this.

To search for books/e-books or journals/ejournals keep the search as Libraries (the default search). This search will look for:

• physical items in campus libraries: books, journals, newspapers, pamphlets, DVDs,e-books, e-journals and other electronic information sources to which AU subscribes (searches for ebook/ejournal titles not individual chapters/articles within).

The Library Collection lockers are located on Level D of the Hugh Owen Library.  These lockers provide contactless, secure checkouts for books, equipment and other requested items. Library users will be informed by e-mail when requested items are ready to be collected from the lockers.

You will need your Abercard to access the lockers. 

Users can choose to collect items from an accessible height locker. How can I request that my books are placed in an accessible height library collection locker?

A chapter digitisation service has been introduced to support your studies.

More information on the service and the online request form can be found https://www.aber.ac.uk/en/is/library-services/digitisation/chapterdigitisation/ 

Here is an FAQ with details on how to request a chapter: https://faqs.aber.ac.uk/3069 

Aberystwyth University libraries subscribe to a wide range of e-books and e-book collections.

We have 1000s of e-books and our collection is regularly growing. You can access our e-books via Primo. In the search box enter one or two key words from the title and the surname of the author. When the search results appear you can choose to click Full text online in the Tweak my results menu on the left to display results for ebooks only.

If we have access to an electronic version of a book, the Primo record will state Online Access

• How to find e-books found in Primo
• How to read and print e-books found in Primo - links to FAQs on how to read ebooks found on different platforms (e.g. JSTOR, ProQuest)

• All the e-books the library subscribes to can be found in the Primo Library catalogue.
• Enter your keywords and when you see Online Access against the books you're after, select to either read online or download the entire book. 
• Further instructions on how to access e-books from different platforms: How to access e-books 

FAQ: How do I access e-resources off-campus?

Our extensive collections of electronic journals, databases and e-books are available to you 24/7 on and off-campus.

Before you start any searching off-campus: sign in to Primo

• Go to https://primo.aber.ac.uk/
• Sign in using the Sign in link at the top right hand of your screen

• You know you have signed in successfully if your name displays at the top right hand of your screen.
• You are now authenticated to access AU subscribed electronic resources. If you close your browser, you will need to sign into Primo again to re-authenticate.

The main collection of printed material e.g. books, journals, reference and quick reference, can be found in the Hugh Owen Library on Level F (top floor):

Key classmark areas in the study topics offered:

More info on More Books!

If you can’t find a book you’re looking for in the library, you can place a request for it via the More Books campaign (Students only). Each book ordered through the campaign will be placed in the library collection.

Further information can be found on the More Books webpage.