Skip to main content
Chat now
Sgwrsiwch nawr

Welsh and Celtic Studies: Articles & key databases

Dia dhaoibh. Is mise Lloyd Roderick, leabharlannaí acadúil le haghaidh Roinn na Breatnaise agus an Léinn Cheiltigh. Is é údar an leathanaigh seo ná cúnamh a thabhairt daoibh a mhór a dhéanamh de na hacmhainní atá againn i réimse na Breatnaise agus na Ceiltise. Má tá ceist ar bith agaibh orm, ná bíodh eagla oraibh dul i dteangbháil liom. Táim anseo le cabhrú libh!

Key Databases

Why use electronic resources?

  • Find reference sources, digitised primary sources and scholarly articles for Welsh & Celtic Studies
  • Many openly available
  • Option to filter by 'peer reviewed'
  • Subscription services noted below (*) are available to Aberystwyth University staff and students on and off campus (will need VPN connection off-campus)

Recommended databases

Historical Corpus of the Welsh Language 1500-1850 - a collection of Welsh texts from the period 1500-1850 in an electronic format. Texts include  include drama, personal letters, ballads, political (didactic) prose, scripture, historical narrative, narrative prose, and religious prose.

Welsh Journals Online - Welsh Journals provides access to journals relating to Wales published between 1735-2007. Titles range from academic and scientific publications to literary and popular magazines

Welsh Biography Online - over five thousand concise biographies of Welsh people who have made a significant contribution to national life, whether in Wales or more widely.

Bibliography of Irish Linguistics and Literature - produced by the School of Celtic Studies at the Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies 

CELT Corpus of Electronic Texts - database of Irish literary and historical culture. A searchable online textbase consisting of over 18.5 million words, in 1620 contemporary and historical documents from many areas, including literature, medicine, and the other arts.

 

CELT Periodicals

A selection of journals available through Primo:

  • O'r Pedwar Gwynt
  • Barn
  • Taliesin
  • Efrydiau Athronyddol
  • Studi Celtici
  • Cornish Studies
  • The Irish Review
  • Annales de Bretagne et des pays de l'ouest
  • Comhar
  • Planet: the Welsh Internationalist
  • Brud Nevez
  • Eigse: a Jouirnal of Irish Studies
  • Studia Celtica
  • Y Traethodydd

Primo Search

Search In Primo

Journal articles

Journals provide important sources of academic information.  You can search for journal articles using the Primo 'Articles & more' search in Primo.