Skip to main content
Chat now
Sgwrsiwch nawr

Welsh and Celtic Studies: Books & e-books

Myttin da! Lloyd Roderick ov vy, lyverveydh testen rag Kembrek & Studhyansow Keltek. Ma’n folednow ma ow provia kedhlow dh’agas gweres gul devnydh orth agan asnodhow rag agas testen. Mars eus qwestyons, kestavewgh genam mar pleg, th’erov vy obma rag agas gweres!

Primo Search

Search In Primo

Books in the Library

To find out if a specific book is available in the Library, visit Primo and sign in.  In the search box enter one or two key words from the title and the surname of the author. When the search results appear you can choose to click Books in the Tweak my results menu on the left to display results for books only or filter to match your own criteria. 

Available

If the book is available to borrow, Primo will state this information giving the floor location and classmark details. 

On loan

If the book is not available to borrow and on loan to another user, Primo will state this information.

Recalling a book 

You can recall a book that is on loan. Instructions on how to do this is available here. 

Online access

If the item is available in electronic format, Primo will state this.

Shelf Locations

Key areas in the Celtic Collection (prefixed with CELT): 

CB206 Celtic Civilization and Race
DA700–745 Welsh History
E184.W4 Welsh in the U.S.
F2936 Welsh in Patagonia / Y Wladfa
G Geography / Anthropology
H Social Sciences
J Political Sciences
K Law
L Education
M Music
N Fine Arts
PA Classical Studies
PB Celtic Languages and Literature
Z Bibliography

E-books

Aberystwyth University libraries subscribe to a wide range of e-books and e-book collections.

We have 1000s of e-books and our collection is regularly growing. You can access our e-books via Primo. In the search box enter one or two key words from the title and the surname of the author. When the search results appear you can choose to click Full text online in the Tweak my results menu on the left to display results for ebooks only.

If we have access to an electronic version of a book, the Primo record will state Online Access

Click here for further information and for instructions on:

Key e-book databases

​Below are key databases for e-books:​

  • WikiSource
    •  Wikisource is a Free Library of source texts which are in the public domain or legally available for free redistribution

Document Supply Service

The Document Supply Service allows registered users to request items which are not available in the University Library. We can support staff and students with research and learning by locating and supplying books, chapters, and articles held by other libraries. Information Services will cover the costs of the allocation for the different user groups in all academic departments, subject to available funds.

See how many free requests you can order and for further information visit the Document Supply webpage

Selected e-books

Off-Campus access

Our extensive collections of electronic journals, databases and e-books remain available to you 24/7 on and off-campus.

Before you start any searching off-campus:

sign in to Primo

You know you have signed in successfully if your name displays at the top right hand of your screen.

You are now authenticated to access AU subscribed electronic resources. If you close your browser, you will need to sign into Primo again to re-authenticate.

For further information on accessing e-resources off-campus see FAQ 163.

More Books

More info on More Books!

If you can’t find a book you’re looking for in the library, you can place a request for it via the More Books campaign (Students only). Each book ordered through the campaign will be placed in the library collection.

Further information can be found on the More Books webpage.

Contact information

Lloyd Roderick's picture
Lloyd Roderick