Skip to main content
Chat now
Sgwrsiwch nawr

International Politics: Journals and Articles

Journals and Articles

A journal is a publication focusing on a particular subject area which can contain articles, letters, research, opinions and reviews written by different authors. Journals are published at regular intervals, such as weekly, monthly or quarterly. Each copy is an issue and a set of issues makes a volume (usually each year is a separate volume). Journals are also known as periodicals. Anything you see on Primo or in our Libraries with PER in the classmark, it is a journal containing shorts papers on specific topics. They can be found in print format, online or both.
 

Why use a journal article?

  • Important sources for subject information or research.
  • Information on current developments.
  • Journal articles are published more quickly than books, so can be more up to date.
  • They often cover a subject in depth and include original research.

Some Useful Journals for International Politics

 

Searching for journal articles

Journals provide important sources of academic information.  You can search for ​journal articles using the ​Articles search ​in Primo.

Current Periodicals / Journals

Keep up to date with the latest news by reading the current printed International Politics periodicals / journals. You can find them on Level F of the Hugh Owen Library. Many journals are available online too via Primo

E-journals

Aberystwyth Univeristy libraries subscribes to a wide range of e-journals.

Further information on electronic resources can be found here.

Visit the e-journals FAQs for additional information.  

Key Databases

Gale News

Full-text articles from regional, national and global newspapers. A fantastic resource for Behind the Headlines.

Times Digital Archive 1785-1985

A database containing the complete digital edition of The Times (London) from 1785 - 2012. Contains every page from every issue of the newspaper, including headlines, articles and images. The content also includes: editorials, birth and death notices, advertisements and classified ads. This too is a great resource for Behind the Headlines

JSTOR 

A multi-disciplinary archive of academic journals, books and pamphlets. 

Zetoc

Zetoc is a search and current awareness tool from the British Library to help you keep up to date with latest developments in your field. It has the facility to provide you with regular emails detailing tables of contents from selected journals. 

 

Europa 

The official website of the European Union, providing information on services provided by the EU and how the EU works. It also provides latest news and events. Particularly useful for the module, The EU: Politics, Policies and Problems (see also European Sources Online - below) 

European Sources Online

European Sources Online (ESO) is an online database and information service which provides access to information on the institutions and activities of the European Union, the countries, regions and other international organisations of Europe, and on issues of importance to European researchers, citizens and stakeholders. 

Mass Observation Online (social research  into the cultural and social history of Britain). 

The material at the Mass Observation Archive, and now on Mass Observation Online, offers an unparalled insight into everyday life in the 1930s and 1940s. This publication opens up a host of essay and project possibilities on topics such as abortion, old age, crime, eating habits, shopping, fashion, dance, popular music, sex, sport, reading, ethnic minorities, and the decline of Empire. It will be welcomed by historians, literary scholars, sociologists, anthropologists and political scientists. 

The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers 1688-2004.

 Includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. 

Researching Welsh Law.

This guide is intended as an introduction to researching Welsh law and includes a brief overview of the development of the Welsh Legal System. 

19th Century UK periodicals

This collection covers the period 1800 to 1900. When complete it will make available full runs of nearly 600 titles, some of which exist only in a single copy. 

A full list of databases that Aberystwyth University provides can be found here

Loading ...

Document Supply Service

The Document Supply Service allows registered users to request items which are not available in the University Library. We can support staff and students with research and learning by locating and supplying books, chapters, and articles held by other libraries. Information Services will cover the costs of the allocation for the different user groups in all academic departments, subject to available funds.

Click here for further information and to see how many free requests you can order.

Primo Search

Search In Primo

Off-Campus access

If you wish to gain access to e-resources off-campus, you do not need to install VPN; these can be accessed using the browser based Primo VPN.

You will need to:

  1. Sign in to https://primo-vpn.aber.ac.uk with your AU username and password. You must keep the browser open while you work. 
  2. Sign in to https://primo.aber.ac.uk with your AU username and password - you will be prompted to do this after connecting to Primo VPN

You will then have off-campus access to the majority of AU-subscribed electronic information resources and their full text. If you close your browser you will need to login again.

For further information on accessing e-resources off-campus see FAQ 163