Skip to main content
Chat now
Sgwrsiwch nawr

International Politics: Keeping up to date

Keeping up to date

During your time as a student, and particularly in postgraduate studies and subsequent careers, you may find it extremely useful to keep up-to-date with the latest developments, literature and events in your subject area. Such activities will enable you to include the latest ideas and findings in your dissertation, reports and presentations.

Today, there is a very wide range of web-based and social media facilities available to choose from to aid you in this task. Many services operate in the form of alerting services which will automatically deliver the latest information to you in the forms of e-mail or social media feeds. To register for these services, all you usually need to supply is a username (often in the form of an e-mail address) and your own selected password.

Please remember that as an Aberystwyth University student, while you can use your AU e-mail address to register for such services, it is not recommended that you use your AU password.

There are several different areas in which “keeping up-to-date” can be useful and the information below and the following page will look through a number of these: Keeping up to date in your subject area.

Guardian News

Newspapers

You can browse our collection of newspapers in the library or view the comprehensive collection of past and current newspapers we subscribe to online:

Newspapers available electronically

Aberystwyth University subscribes to e-resources which give you access to many UK and international newspapers. Access them by logging in to Primo where you can find a list of current and past news sources in Databases A-Z, along with off-campus access information.

The list of resources includes:

  • Gale Reference Complete 
    • This is a package of three cross-searching platforms:

      • PowerSearch - for journals, magazines, newspapers, and eBooks
      • Gale Literary Sources - for literary criticisms, biographies, primary works, and overviews
      • Archives Unbound - smaller, specialised historical archive collections covering every major region of the world and some thematic collections
  • Gale Primary Sources: Digital historical documents from over 500 years of world history, curated by Gale and partnering libraries from around the world.
  • Times Digital Archive: the complete digital editions of The Times from 1785-198

BBC News Twitter

News

Have a look through the following tabs to see the many ways you can keep up to date.

Image result for box of broadcasts

Box of Broadcasts

Keep up to date with radio and television news. Contains more than 60+ radio and television channels.

Center for Research Libraries - Global Resources Network

Center for Research Library

The approximately five million newspapers, journals, books, pamphlets, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other resources held by CRL support original research and teaching. CRL holdings include materials from all world regions: Sub-Saharan Africa, Latin America, the Middle East, Central, South and Southeast Asia, North America, and Europe. While these shared collections are largely paper and microform, CRL provides online access to a continually expanding body of digital materials.

  • Gale Reference Complete 
    • This is a package of three cross-searching platforms:

      • PowerSearch - for journals, magazines, newspapers, and eBooks
      • Gale Literary Sources - for literary criticisms, biographies, primary works, and overviews
      • Archives Unbound - smaller, specialised historical archive collections covering every major region of the world and some thematic collections
  • Gale Primary Sources: Digital historical documents from over 500 years of world history, curated by Gale and partnering libraries from around the world.

Home

Online Newspaper

Thousands of world newspapers at your fingertips listed by country of region.

SciCentral Home

SciCentral

Gateway to the best science news sources.

ScienceDaily

ScienceDaily

Your source for the latest research news.

Image result for times digital archive 2012
 

Database containing The Times (London) complete digital edition from 1785- 2012. It contains every complete page of each edition of the paper, including headings, articles and images of all content - front pages , editorial articles, birth and death notices, advertisements and minor advertisements.

British Newspapers. UK Media Online.

UK National News

Every national and regional newspaper published online: dailies, weeklies and monthly magazines and broadcast media

Loading ...

Current Periodicals / Journals

Keep up to date with the latest news by reading the current printed International Politics periodicals / journals. You can find them on Level F of the Hugh Owen Library. Many journals are available online too via Primo

AberInterPol Twitter

Alert Services

Jstor

JSTOR 

Multi disciplinary archive of academic journals, books and pamphlets.

JournalTOCs

JournalTOCs is the largest, free collection of scholarly journals Tables of Contents (TOCs).

 

ZETOC Alerts

The monitoring and search service for global research publications.

Loading ...