LibGuides: Healthcare Education: Journals, articles, databases, websites and other resources

Journals, articles, databases, websites and other resources

Journals provide important sources of academic information.

You can search for journal articles using the Articles search in Primo.

How do I find full-text articles in Primo Articles?

A journal is a publication focusing on a particular subject area which can contain articles, letters, research, opinions and reviews written by different authors. Journals are published at regular intervals, such as weekly, monthly or quarterly. Each copy is an issue and a set of issues makes a volume (usually each year is a separate volume). Journals are also known as periodicals. Anything you see on Primo or in our Libraries with PER in the classmark, it is a journal containing shorts papers on specific topics. They can be found in print format, online or both.

Why use a journal article?

Important sources for subject information or research.
Information on current developments.
Journal articles are published more quickly than books, so can be more up to date.
They often cover a subject in depth and include original research.

Peer-reviewed articles have been reviewed and accepted by specialists in their field before being published. This ensures that the journals maintain their reputation and the research quality is upheld. Use the filter in Primo to narrow by 'Peer Reviewed'.

Further information can be found on Elec Info electronic resources webpage.

How do I find journals in Primo?

Introducing BrowZine

Aberystwyth University libraries subscribes to a wide range of e-journals.

Further information can be found on Elec Info electronic resources webpage.

Visit the E-journals @ Aber webpage for more information on how to use e-journals effectively.

How do I access e-resources off campus?

LibKey Nomad - one-click access to articles referenced on scholarly websites and search engines

LibKey Nomad is a downloadable browser extension that automatically provides instant links to articles from journals subscribed to by Aberystwyth University libraries. Further information: https://wordpress.aber.ac.uk/librarian/?p=803

The Elsevier Complete Anatomy app is an advanced 3D technology tool that provides a thorough understanding of the human body. This innovative app includes features such as a 3D human body atlas and interactive learning to help you visualise and memorise key concepts. The app is available on multiple devices and platforms, including Apple, Android, and Windows.

To access the app

Download the Complete Anatomy app and use your University email address to create an account.
Links to download the app for ipad, Mac, iphone, windows, Android

The redeem/activation code for Aberystwyth University students is: FKLHRC2GQYEH How do I redeem my Institutional Activation Code?

If you are a member of staff at Aberystwyth University, please email sia1@aber.ac.uk / librarians@aber.ac.uk for the educator license code.

Tutorials and videos

Getting Started: The Basics

Complete Anatomy - Learn the basics in seconds

Tutorials on all Features/Functions

Platform

3D4Medical from Elsevier

Further help

Complete Anatomy Support Center

Contact your librarian, Simone sia1@aber.ac.uk / librarians@aber.ac.uk for support.

If you wish, you can also search citation databases (which contain details of research and articles) and resources directly. For Healthcare Education, the main resource databases are:

Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA)
British Nursing Database A leading bibliographic database supporting the practice, education, and research for nurses, midwives, and health providers in the UK and the greater nursing community. This full text database provides abstracting and indexing for hundreds of titles, with coverage dating back to 1993. Literature coverage focuses on titles published in the UK, Australia and Canada, plus a selection of important international nursing titles.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text CINAHL provides broad content coverage including over 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine.
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making and includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
MEDLINE with Full Text MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
PubMed Comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PsycARTICLES - provides direct links to the full text for you to download. However, PsycArticles only provides access to journals published by the APA and is therefore limited in the range of topics it covers.
PTSDpubs - a freely available database providing literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of traumatic events.
ScienceDirect - an information source for scientific, technical, and medical research.
SCOPUS - a large abstract and citation database

Benefits of searching these databases directly:

there may be fewer results, but perhaps they will be more relevant;
it is useful to have experience of directly searching sources.

Downsides of searching these databases directly:

they are indexed in Primo Central too so their results would appear there anyway;
searching them directly means means fewer results than searching Primo Central;
results won't always lead to a full text article.

MSD Manuals
Welsh Government - Health Conditions
Welsh Government - Health and Social Care Strategy
NICE - National Institute for Health and Care Excellence
Public Health Wales
Understanding Health Research
NMC Code
NMC Standards of Proficiency for Registered Nurses
UK CEN - Clinical Ethics Network
Psych Central - A mental health and psychology network. Includes overviews of a range of mental health conditions.
NHS Wales National Palliative and End of Life Care Programme
World Health Organization

Importance of evaluating and fact checking information