The PGCE collection of teaching resources can be used by all students but is of particular use for PGCE students. During teaching practice placements the loan dates are extended so that students may borrow them for the duration of their teaching placements. It is only books from this collection (identified with a green band on the spine) that have this extended loan period. The collection is located on Level E and F of the Hugh Owen Library.
Our extensive collections of electronic journals, databases and e-books are available to you 24/7 on and off-campus.
You know you have signed in successfully if your name displays at the top right hand of your screen.
You are now authenticated to access AU subscribed electronic resources. If you close your browser, you will need to sign into Primo again to re-authenticate.
For further information on accessing e-resources off-campus see FAQ 163.
SCONUL Access is a scheme which allows many university library users to borrow or use books and journals at other libraries which belong to the scheme. To find out more about the scheme, who is eligible, and how it works: https://www.sconul.ac.uk/sconul-access
The Children’s Literature collection
Come and explore the Children’s Literature collection, located on Level F at classmark PZ. We have a good selection of children’s fiction, ranging from picture books, contemporary children’s literature to young adult fiction. You’d find it particularly useful if you’re studying PGCE or Childhood Studies/ Education.
Teaching Times contains a wide range of articles on the latest developments in teaching, learning and leadership. It also has a knowledge bank and adaptable classroom resources which you can tailor and publish to your own personal network.
To access Teaching Times, search for the resource in Primo (primo.aber.ac.uk), or via: https://www.teachingtimes.com/. You will need to sign-in via Institution first. You can also create your own personal account, but this isn’t necessary to access the full text.
Times Educational Supplement
We have unlimited access to TES magazine subscriber content online: You will be able to read breaking news; in-depth analysis; world-leading teaching and learning guides and research reviews; and investigations. You will also be able to watch videos and listen to podcasts.
To access the resource you’ll need to create your own profile at: tes.com using your Aberystwyth University email address (if you already have an account with a personal email address, you will still need to create a new profile with your Aberystwyth email to access TES magazine).
Once that is done, you can visit the homepage and start reading news, analysis, teaching and learning guides and research reviews (which you can navigate to via the headings at the top of the page).
You can also access the resource via Primo and A-Z of Resources.
