PGCE Collection
The PGCE collection of teaching resources can be used by all students, but is of particular use for PGCE Secondary students. During teaching practice placements, the loan dates are extended so that students may borrow them for the duration of their teaching placements. It is only books from this collection (identified with a green band on the spine) that have this extended loan period and all other books in the university libraries remain standard loans. This collection is located on Level E and F of the Hugh Owen Library.
Aberystwyth University Libraries hold collections of materials for academic purposes in the fields of the Arts and Humanities, Science and Social Sciences.
You can find details of all our collections on the Aberystwyth University collections page.
The National Library of Wales is a deposit Library which means they have the right to a copy of every publication printed in Britain and Ireland.
You can search the library catalogue online to find collections. Some collections have been digitised and can be viewed online. You'll find further information along with a list of resources on the NLW Resources page.
The Children’s Literature collection
Come and explore the Children’s Literature collection, located on Level F at classmark PZ. We have a good selection of children’s fiction, ranging from picture books, contemporary children’s literature to young adult fiction. You’d find it particularly useful if you’re studying PGCE or Childhood Studies/ Education.
The following special collections may be of particular interest to Education students:
