The main collection of printed materials can be found in the Hugh Owen Library on Level F (top floor):
LA History of education
LB1028-1049 Educational research
LB1050 Reading and reading difficulties
LB1051 Educational psychology
LB1140 Early years education
LB1501 Primary education
LB1523 National Curriculum
LB1564-1570 Curriculum development in general
LB1705-2286 Education and training of teachers
LB2800 School management
LB3013 Classroom control and discipline
LB3051-3060 Assessment
LC2042 Women's education
LC3701-3747 Bilingual and multicultural education
LC3965-4803 Special educational needs
All our e-books can be found on Primo, alternatively you may prefer online browsing the 'Education' titles offered by one of our main e-book providers ProQuest Ebook Central (over 20,000 business and economics titles).
The PGCE collection of teaching resources can be used by all students but is of particular use for PGCE students. During teaching practice placements the loan dates are extended so that students may borrow them for the duration of their teaching placements. It is only books from this collection (identified with a green band on the spine) that have this extended loan period. The collection is located on Level E and F of the Hugh Owen Library.
If you can’t find a book you’re looking for in the library, you can place a request for it via the More Books campaign (Students only). Each book ordered through the campaign will be placed in the library collection.
More information is available here.
Search Primo to find further titles and browse the Effective Study Collection on Level F Hugh Owen .
The Children’s Literature collection
Come and explore the Children’s Literature collection, located on Level F at classmark PZ. We have a good selection of children’s fiction, ranging from picture books, contemporary children’s literature to young adult fiction. You’d find it particularly useful if you’re studying PGCE or Childhood Studies/ Education.
Our extensive collections of electronic journals, databases and e-books are available to you 24/7 on and off-campus.
You know you have signed in successfully if your name displays at the top right hand of your screen.
You are now authenticated to access AU subscribed electronic resources. If you close your browser, you will need to sign into Primo again to re-authenticate.
For further information on accessing e-resources off-campus see FAQ 163.
The Document Supply Service allows registered users to request items which are not available in the University Library. We can support staff and students with research and learning by locating and supplying books, chapters, and articles held by other libraries. Information Services will cover the costs of the allocation for the different user groups in all academic departments, subject to available funds.
Click here for further information and to see how many free requests you can order.
