The University's collections contain a wide range of materials, including theses and past papers. You can find details of all our collections here.
The following may be of particular interest to Art and Art History students:
A union catalogue which allows you to search all of the catalogues of national libraries of the UK, many university libraries and specialist libraries such as the Wellcome Trust and the National Art Library at the V&A Museum.
The Celtic Collection brings together material relating to Brittany, Cornwall, the Isle of Man, Ireland, Scotland and Wales, and contains approximately 25,000 books. The collection is housed on Level F of the Hugh Owen Library. Although the collection contains material on all subjects relating to Celtic countries, the two largest sequences are those on history and literature. There are also many books on the art and art history of the Celtic nations, including the below:
The Tradition by
Peter Lord surveys the evolution of the visual culture of Wales from the Renaissance to the end of the twentieth century in this new, single-volume history. Written for everyone with an interest in the art and history of Wales, the volume illustrates some 400 landscapes and portrait paintings, prints and sculptures. The author describes both how the work emerged from its Welsh historical context and was related to the art of other cultures. The Tradition is the only study now in print that encompasses the whole field of Welsh visual art.
Post-war to post modern: a dictionary of artists in Wales by 
A taste of the avant-garde : 56 Group Wales by 
Richard Wilson and the Transformation of European Landscape Painting by
Long known as the father of British landscape painting, Richard Wilson (1713-1782) was in fact at the heart of a profound conceptual shift in European landscape art. This magnificently illustrated volume not only situates Wilson’s art at the beginning of a native tradition that would lead to John Constable and J. M. W. Turner, but compellingly argues that in Rome during the 1750s Wilson was part of an international group of artists who reshaped the art of Europe. Rooted in the work of great seventeenth-century masters such as Claude Lorrain but responding to the early stirrings of neoclassicism, Wilson forged a highly original landscape vision that through the example of his own works and the tutelage of his pupils in Rome and later in London would establish itself throughout northern Europe.
A selection of works from the School of Art's collection are on display in Hugh Owen Library. On level D you can see paintings in oil by Evan Walters, Colin Gard Allen, David Tinker and more.
