To find out if a specific book is available in the Library, visit Primo and sign in. In the search box enter one or two key words from the title and the surname of the author. When the search results appear you can choose to click Books in the Tweak my results menu on the left to display results for books only or filter to match your own criteria.
Available
If the book is available to borrow, Primo will state this information giving the floor location and classmark details.
On loan
If the book is not available to borrow and on loan to another user, Primo will state this information.
Recalling a book
You can recall a book that is on loan. For instructions on how to recall (request) a book that is on loan with another user, see FAQ 814.
Online access
If the item is available in electronic/online format, Primo will state this.
To search for books/e-books or journals/ejournals keep the search as Libraries (the default search). This search will look for:
A module reading list is usually a list of books and other information resources compiled by the module co-ordinator to support your study of a module.
Where can I find my reading list?
You can find the reading list for a module you are studying in Blackboard.
Find out more about your Aspire Reading Lists.
You can also view your lists directly in the Aspire system at aspire.aber.ac.uk
Enter the module code and/or name.
Find out more by visiting the Aspire reading list webpage.
If you are choosing modules for next year, or you are a prospective student, visit the AU modules pages and on any module page...
click View in Aspire to see a reading list for a current module
click View an example list in Aspire to see an example list for a module being taught in the future
The Library Collection lockers are located on Level D of the Hugh Owen Library. These lockers provide contactless, secure checkouts for books, equipment and other requested items. Library users will be informed by e-mail when requested items are ready to be collected from the lockers.
You will need your Abercard to access the lockers.
Users can choose to collect items from an accessible height locker. How can I request that my books are placed in an accessible height library collection locker?
Aberystwyth University libraries subscribe to a wide range of e-books and e-book collections.
We have 1000s of e-books and our collection is regularly growing. You can access our e-books via Primo. In the search box enter one or two key words from the title and the surname of the author. When the search results appear you can choose to click Full text online in the Tweak my results menu on the left to display results for ebooks only.
If we have access to an electronic version of a book, the Primo record will state Online Access
Our extensive collections of electronic journals, databases and e-books are available to you 24/7 on and off-campus.
| eScholarship Editions (University of California) | UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004, includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics |
| Gale Reference Complete - E-Books (general collections) | |
| Internet Text Archive | The Internet Archive offers over 15,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. |
| Museums and Galleries |
Many major institutions, galleries and museums are now making their publications including exhibition catalogues available online. Here are the collections of some major institutions:
|
| Pennsylvania Online Books (all topics) |
|
| Project Gutenberg |
|
| ProQuest Ebook Central | Use Ebook Central to quickly and easily find relevant ebooks and chapters |
|
Wikisource is a Free Library of source texts which are in the public domain or legally available for free redistribution |
|
| Wiley Online Library |
A chapter digitisation service has been introduced to support your studies.
For details on how to request a chapter see How do I request a chapter to be scanned from a book in the library?
