Skip to main content
Chat now
Sgwrsiwch nawr

English and Creative Writing: Articles & key databases

New to Aber! Gale Literature

Detail of Gale Topic Finder visual from "The Testaments"

Gale Literature is a huge, high quality, online resource comprising prose, plays and poems and a range of criticism and reference resources.  There is some overlap with Literature Online (LION), particularly in the primary works / biographical content, however Gale provides valuable contextuality via their Topic Finder (see example above) and Term Frequency tools - look out for these in your search results. There are also practical reading functions available such as screen-reading, downloads, highlights, notes and definitions. Visit the What's Inside page to find out more about the individual collections in Gale Literature including title lists.

Key Databases

Literature Online

literature online logo

Literature Online has been selected for subscription by the English & Creative Writing department and comprises, "the texts of over 350,000 literary works with a vast library of key criticism and reference resources". Take some time to explore this rich collection which includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, links to full-text journal articles, 100,000s of texts (poetry, plays and prose), author biographies, audio recordings of Shakespeare plays, and videos of poets reading their and others' work. Recent additions include the Black Writing Collection and the World Literature Collection.

Primo Search

Search In Primo

Searching for journal articles on Primo

Journals provide important sources of academic information. 

You can search for ​journal articles using the Articles search ​in Primo.

FAQ 1185 has detailed instructions on how to search for full-text articles on Primo.