Skip to main content
Chat now
Sgwrsiwch nawr

Biological, Environmental and Rural Sciences & BVSc: Employability

What is employability?

“Employability” is a term used to describe the skills, qualities and accomplishments that make individuals more likely to gain employment and be successful in their chosen career. You may choose a specific profession, self-employment, research or an academic career. 

Employability is becoming increasingly important within higher education to ensure graduates are prepared for their future careers. 

How can the library help me with employability?

The Library is not just there to support you in gaining your degree.

It's never too early to start thinking about your career!

The Library has a wide range of books and e-books to support you from writing a successful CV, completing your job application to useful tips on interview preparation. 

Take a look at a few examples of the titles available in the Library...

Library Skills

As a student, you've developed skills in searching for information, analyzing and interpreting it as well as using information correctly and effectively. These skills are highly valued by employers. 

Book an appointment with your Subject Librarian, Non, for further guidance on enhancing your transferrable library skills and...

  • learn how the Library can help you improve your information literacy skills 
  • learn how to search effectively and evaluate the information you find

IBERS students and graduates

IBERS aim is to provide opportunities to develop students’ employability to help you secure an appropriate career following graduation.

They do this in many ways including:

Take a look at careers for Biological, Environmental and Rural Sciences students Here you will find information and useful links when looking for work experience and graduate jobs. ‚Äč

IBERS Careers Consultant

IBERS has a dedicated, professional Careers Consultant to promote employability.  Their role is to offer impartial advice and guidance on the transition to graduate employment, or postgraduate study. 

James Cuffe is the Careers Consultant for IBERS. Students can access help by telephoning 01970 628413, emailing jpc11@aber.ac.uk The service is available before and after graduation - it is FREE. 

Students who are unsure of their next step, or those with a clear direction of a career are welcome to use the service.  It has a wealth of information to aid you in your career development.  

Aberystwyth University Careers Service

The Careers Service provides an excellent and supportive service which empowers individual students and graduates to realise their aspirations, make informed life choices and achieve their potential. 

The Careers Service web pages provides support from choosing a career, sourcing work experience, finding and applying for jobs to being work ready.

Support is available for

COVID-19: Office is closed but email is being monitored. 

You can visit the Careers Service - the office is located next door to the Student Union Shop on Penglais Campus.

Opening hours are:

  • Monday - Thursday 9.00am – 5.00pm

  • Friday 9.00am – 4.00pm

  • Closed between 1.00pm – 2.00 pm

General contact details:

AberUniCareers Twitter

Sport and Exercise Science

Sport and exercise science combines a study of biomechanics, physiology, psychology and nutrition.  It develops a large number of transferable skills including communication both oral and written, effective problem solving, project management, research along with data analysis, initiative, time management and information technology. 

Further information on Sport and Exercise Science careers can be found here: https://www.aber.ac.uk/en/careers/undergraduate/subject-specific-information/sport-exercise-science/ 

More books in the library

Search and find career related books by using our library catalogue, Primo.

Here are some examples of titles: 

Prospects careers website

Visit the Prospects website: https://www.prospects.ac.uk/ 

The UK's biggest graduate careers website with more than 2.3 million monthly browsers.

They help to guide students and graduates to a bright future with unrivalled information, advice and opportunities.

Employability Resources

Annual Reports.com

Annual reports from over 5000 companies worldwide.

Charity Commission

To access data for a UK charity for pre-interview/job application.
Provides financial data and key information for registered charities in England and Wales.

Companies House

A free, online database holding all the public information on UK companies concerning their finances and the appointment of secretaries and directors.

Gale Reference Complete 

  • This is a package with...

    • Over 28,000  periodicals including 4,595 titles from the  JCR Impact Factor Science list

    • Over 1,700 eBook editions (4,000 volumes) including award-winning encyclopedias and directories

    • Over 13 million pages of historical primary sources from the  13th to the 21st centuries

    • Over 1.5 million  items of literature criticism and  full-text literary  works

Gale Primary Sources: Digital historical documents from over 500 years of world history, curated by Gale and partnering libraries from around the world.

Gale Onefile NewsFull text database including regional, national and international newspapers

IBIS World 

The University has access to IBISWorld, which has a collection of forecasts and analysis of over 3,300 industries across the globe.