Skip to Main Content
Chat now
Sgwrsiwch nawr

Mathematics: Journals and Articles

Journals and Articles

A journal is a publication focusing on a particular subject area which can contain articles, letters, research, opinions and reviews written by different authors. Journals are published at regular intervals, such as weekly, monthly or quarterly. Each copy is an issue and a set of issues makes a volume (usually each year is a separate volume). Journals are also known as periodicals. Anything you see on Primo or in our Libraries with PER in the classmark, it is a journal containing shorts papers on specific topics. They can be found in print format, online or both.
 

Why use a journal article?

  • Important sources for subject information or research.
  • Information on current developments.
  • Journal articles are published more quickly than books, so can be more up to date.
  • They often cover a subject in depth and include original research.

Some Academic Journals in Maths and Physics

Academic journals contain the most up-to-date research in your area of study, some of which are listed here. More can be found through Primo, the library catalogue

Science​​

Journal of Rheology

International Journal of Heat and Fluid Flow

Astrophysics

Journal of Cosmology and Astroparticle Physics

Semiconductor Science and Technology

Stochastic Models

International Journal of Group Theory

Journal of Pure and Applied Algebra

Searching for journal articles

Journals provide important sources of academic information.  You can search for ​​journal articles using the ​Articles search ​in Primo.

Current Periodicals / Journals

Keep up to date with the latest news by reading the current printed science periodicals / journals. You can find them in the Physical Sciences Library. Many journals are available online too via Primo. 

E-journals

Aberystwyth Univeristy libraries subscribes to a wide range of e-journals.

Further information on electronic resources can be found here.

Visit the e-journals FAQs for additional information.  

Key Databases

MathSciNet

"MathSciNet is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. MathSciNet® contains almost 3 million items and over 1.7 million direct links to original articles. Bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to the early 1800s. Reference lists are collected and matched internally from approximately 550 journals, and citation data for journals, authors, articles and reviews is provided.  This web of citations allows users to track the history and influence of research publications in the mathematical sciences." 

Institute of Physics Books and Journals 

"IOPscience has been designed to make it easy for researchers to discover relevant content and manage their research information. With IOPscience you can:

  • Speed up your research: find relevant content quickly with enhanced search filtering
  • Save time: re-run previous searches, tagging your favorite articles
  • Keep up to date: receive RSS feeds and email alerts when new content is published
  • Access more content: view articles plus preprints and news
  • Interact and share: embrace social bookmarking to share articles
  • Discover related research: explore relevant articles based on subject classification codes
  • Make it personal: customize your alerts, save articles of interest, and view newly published articles within your subject areas"

Wolfram MathWorld

"MathWorld currently features a number of innovative interactive elements that enhance its usability for a variety of different readers. These features include:

ScienceDirect 

Contains large collection of Mathematics, Physical Sciences and Engineering publications. 

A full list of databases that Aberystwyth University provides can be found here

Primo Search

Search In Primo

Off-Campus access

Remember to log in to your VPN when you are away from campus to gain access to our online resources. Once successfully connected you should be able to access electronic resources as though you were on campus.

Document Supply Service

The Document Supply Service allows registered users to request items which are not available in the University Library. ​We can support staff and students with research and learning by locating and supplying books, chapters, and articles held by other libraries. Information Services will cover the costs of the allocation for the different user groups in all academic departments, subject to available funds.

Click here for further information and to see how many free requests you can order.

Hygyrchedd / Accessibility