Skip to main content
Chat now
Sgwrsiwch nawr

Art and Art History: Books & e-books

Find a book on your reading list

Shelf Locations

Key areas:

E Culture
N Visual Arts general
NA Architecture 
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing, Design & Illustration 
ND Painting 
NE Print Media 
NK Decorative Arts 
NX General Art by movement/period 
Z Printed bibliographies
Printed journals
There is also a photography section at TR on level E (Middle floor).

Library Floor Plans & Opening Hours

Hugh Owen Library 

IT support is available between 09:00-17:00 Monday-Friday

During Term times

The library is available 24/7

Further opening times are available here 

 

 

Find these and more in Hugh Owen Library

How to Access e-Books

 

How to access e-books

This link takes you to the FAQ section on the Aberystwyth University webpage.This will help you learn how to access an e-book.

Panopto video on how to search for a journal articles on Primo 

Video available here 

 

Library Description

The main collection of printed material e.g. books, journals, reference and quick reference for Art and Art History can be found in the Hugh Owen Library on level F (top floor):

Primo Search

Search In Primo

e-Book collections online

Many major institutions, galleries and museums are now making their publications including exhibition catalogues available online.  Here are the collections of some major institutions: 

  • MetPublications : five decades of art history publications from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York available to read, search and download for free. 
  • Guggenheim Museum Publications Guggenheim Museum’s Publications Department publishes books and catalogues to document its exhibitions and collections, may of which they make available online.
  • Getty Publications Virtual Library : Free digital collection of titles from the Getty Publications Archive.

Off-Campus access

If you wish to gain access to e-resources off-campus, you do not need to install VPN; these can be accessed using the browser based Primo VPN.

You will need to:

  1. Sign in to https://primo-vpn.aber.ac.uk with your AU username and password. You must keep the browser open while you work. 
  2. Sign in to https://primo.aber.ac.uk with your AU username and password - you will be prompted to do this after connecting to Primo VPN

You will then have off-campus access to the majority of AU-subscribed electronic information resources and their full text. If you close your browser you will need to login again.

For further information on accessing e-resources off-campus see FAQ 163 

Collections