Skip to main content
Chat now
Sgwrsiwch nawr

Art and Art History: Introduction

COVID-19: Library update

COVID-19 Library Update

Since closing the Library buildings in March 2020, we’ve continued to provide online access to resources and virtual support from the IS Service Desk and your subject librarians. Latest updates on Library and IT services can be found at this web page: https://www.aber.ac.uk/en/is/news/isupdate/

 

Library support available via email, phone, Skype and MS Teams. See details below.

 

The libraries are currently closed except for pre-arranged click and collect.

How can I access library resources? 

What will happen to my library loans now the Library is closed?

Where can I drop off my Aberystwyth University library books while the library is closed? 

 

  • You will not be asked to return your loans even if they have reached their maximum borrowing period.

  • A reminder not to worry about items on loan as any fines will be waived. You can check your library account from Primo or via App Aber.

  • You will be unable to request a book that is on loan to someone else. 

 

The 24/7 learning centres and computer rooms are now closed until further notice. 

 

Click and Collect Service

The Click and Collect service operates daily between 13:00-17:00 on Level D, Hugh Owen Library. 

Information on our Click and Collect service, and other limited services, is at https://www.aber.ac.uk/en/is/library-services/cac. Please read this page carefully before using the service. We can only provide this service if our users abide by our new guidelines outlined.

 

 

Hello!

Hello! My name is Lloyd Roderick, your Subject Librarian, and I'm here to help you find library resources that will enable you to make the most of your studies in Art & Art History.

I can help you find appropriate books and articles for your essays, revision and research.

These pages are designed to help you get the most out of our library resources.

Working and studying from home

Frequently Asked Questions

Useful information for staff and students working and studying from home.

https://faqs.aber.ac.uk/ 

IT and Library Desk support

The IT and Library Enquiry Desk (the desk on Level D) is available via online chat, telephone and e-mail services. The library building is closed. 

For all enquiries relating to Library and IT services you can contact us by:

  • calling 01970 62 2400
    • Monday - Thursday 08:30 - 17.30
    • Friday - 08.30 - 16.30
    • Saturday and Sunday - CLOSED
  • emailing is@aber.ac.uk
  • using the Chat Now link on our webpages

Further information available on the webpage: https://www.aber.ac.uk/en/is/help/contactus/ 

Staff publications

Stanley Anderson : prints : a catalogue raisonné / Robert Meyrick & Harry Heuser

Sydney Lee : Prints : a catalogue raisonné / Robert Meyrick

Gwilym Prichard : a lifetime's gazing / Robert Meyrick & Harry Heuser

Claudia Williams : an intimate acquaintance./ Roberth Meyrick & Harry Heuser

Figure and ground : Keith Vaughan drawings, prints and photographs 1935-1962 / Colin Cruise

Pre-Raphaelite drawing / Colin Cruise

Click and Collect Service

pile of assorted-color books

Since closing the Library buildings in March, we've worked remotely to provide you with online access to resources and support. We're now reintroducing some services through a Click and Collect service at the Hugh Owen Library. We have consulted with University Health, Safety & Environment department to ensure we can do this safely.

Information on our Click and Collect service, and other limited services, is at https://www.aber.ac.uk/en/is/library-services/cac. Please read this page carefully before using the service. We can only provide this service if our users abide by our new guidelines outlined on this page.  

  • Users can request items from the University Libraries through Primo – the library catalogue.
  • You can request items from the Hugh Owen Library, Physical Sciences Library, Gogerddan Campus Reading Room and the External stores. 
  • Requested items will be picked from the shelves by library staff and placed on Level D of the Hugh Owen Library for you to collect.
  • If the item is out on loan it will not be recalled from the current user but will be held for you on its return. 
  • You will be emailed when your item is ready with information on how to book a timed slot for you to collect your requested items.
  • Books will be held for you, awaiting collection for 8 days.
  • Staff and students can have up to 15 items on request at any time. Other Reader categories can have up to 5 requests at any time.
  • You can return your library loans when you collect your requested items.
  • You will need to bring your Aber Card with you to enter the building and to use the self-issue machines.

Click and Collect will be available from the 21st July, on Tuesdays and Thursdays between 13:00-17:00 for the next few weeks.

As we assess the need for this service we may expand our services, and we’ll let you know of any changes through our website and social media channels.

Click and Collect Service safety:

  • Users should only visit the library during their booked time slot for the Click and Collect service
  • All users should sanitise their hands before entering the library. There will be a hand sanitising station at the library entrance. 
  • All users should observe the 2-metre social distancing rule   
  • Only the user collecting the requested items should come into the library. 
  • All users must use their Aber Card to swipe to enter the library. 
  • All users must use their Aber Card to swipe to exit the library. 
  • All users must follow the one way system 
  • The numbers of users in the library at any one time will be strictly limited. 
  • Staff working in the library will be following recommended hygiene practises. 
  • Do not come to the library if you are unwell. The main symptoms of COVID-19 are: 
    • new continuous cough; 
    • high temperature; 
    • loss of or change to your normal sense of smell or taste (anosmia). 

How and where to find me!

 

The Hugh Owen Library and Physical Sciences Library are now closed until further notice. 

 

Library support available via email, phone, Skype and MS Teams. 

Get in touch with me:

Email: glr9@aber.ac.uk

Phone: 01970 62 1847

(for enquiries or to arrange an MS Teams Meeting)

or

Book an Appointment (Skype only)

Use the Schedule Appointment link under my photo in the Contact Information box below to find available dates and times

or visit https://libcal.aber.ac.uk/appointments/lloyd

Select date and time slot in the usual way.

Contact information

Lloyd Roderick's picture
Lloyd Roderick

Item you want not available electronically?

If you find that the resource you want is not available electronically please place a request through:

We will do our best to source an electronic copy for you.

Services

Since closing the Library buildings in March, we've worked remotely to provide you with online access to resources and support. The following tabs will show you briefly which services are available and which services that are not yet available. 

  • Access to study spaces, carrels or group study rooms 
  • Access to computing facilities 
  • Binding
  • Browsing the collections
  • Document supply collection 
  • Donations to the library unless by prior arrangement
  • DVD/Video viewing facilities 
  • Face to face enquiry service 
  • Laminating 
  • Lockers 
  • Newspapers 
  • OPACs 
  • Rare books or Archive consultation 
  • Vending 

Off-Campus access

Our extensive collections of electronic journals, databases and e-books remain available to you 24/7 on and off-campus.

If you wish to gain access to e-resources off-campus, you do not need to install VPN; these can be accessed using the browser based Primo VPN.

You will need to:

  1. Sign in to https://primo-vpn.aber.ac.uk with your Aberystwyth University (AU) username and password. You must keep the browser open while you work. 
  2. Sign in to https://primo.aber.ac.uk with your AU username and password - you will be prompted to do this after connecting to Primo VPN

You will then have off-campus access to the majority of AU-subscribed electronic information resources and their full text. If you close your browser you will need to login again.

For further information on accessing e-resources off-campus see FAQ 163 

Access to e-resources off-campus

Temporary access to online resources

While UK academic libraries are closed, some publishers have offered free access to their online collections.

After being selected and switched on at institutional level by the Library, links to these resources will be added to this list: 

Online resources available temporarily while physical access to the Library is affected

Please note the end dates supplied.