To find out if a specific book is available in the Library, visit Primo and sign in. In the search box enter one or two key words from the title and the surname of the author. When the search results appear you can choose to click Books in the Tweak my results menu on the left to display results for books only.
If the book is available to borrow, Primo will state this information giving the floor location and classmark details. For example: Available at Hugh Owen Library Level E (QH308.7.W7 Qto).
If the book is not available, Primo will state this information: On loan but you may request the item. Instructions on how to request a book that is on loan can be found here.
Books for Computer Science can be found in the Physical Sciences Library
Key areas:
Q Science (General)
Q 335-336 Artificial Intelligence
QA 75 Computer Science
QA 76.6 Programming
QA 76.73 Individual languages e.g. QA76.73.J38 Java
QA 76.76 Special topics e.g. QA76.76.O63 Operating systems
T Technology
TK Electrical engineering
TK 5105 Communications & networks
If you can’t find a book you’re looking for in the library, you can place a request for it via the More Books campaign (Students only). Each book ordered through the campaign will be placed in the library collection.
More information is available here.
Aberystwyth University libraries subscribe to a wide range of e-books and e-book collections. We have 1000s of e-books and our collection is regularly growing . You can access our e-books via Primo. If we have access to an electronic version of a book, the Primo record will state Online Access.
Click here for further information and for instructions on how to find, open, read and print e-books found in Primo.
Below are key databases for e-books:
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004, includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics
The Internet Archive offers over 15,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts.
Project Gutenberg offers 59,500 free ebooks to download
Use Ebook Central to quickly and easily find relevant ebooks and chapters
Wikisource is a Free Library of source texts which are in the public domain or legally available for free redistribution
The new Wiley Online Library platform hosts content including:
If you wish to gain access to e-resources off-campus, you do not need to install VPN; these can be accessed using the browser based Primo VPN.
You will need to:
You will then have off-campus access to the majority of AU-subscribed electronic information resources and their full text. If you close your browser you will need to login again.
For further information on accessing e-resources off-campus see FAQ 163
The Document Supply Service allows registered users to request items which are not available in the University Library. We can support staff and students with research and learning by locating and supplying books, chapters, and articles held by other libraries. Information Services will cover the costs of the allocation for the different user groups in all academic departments, subject to available funds.
Click here for further information and to see how many free requests you can order.
