The University’s recommended AI tool is Microsoft Copilot. This is built into our Microsoft Licence and has appropriate security features.
Below are some examples of some other AI tools that could be helpful with your studies. These tools are not endorsed by Aberystwyth University.
Referencing is one of the key academic skills you should master whilst at University. We have a comprehensive Referencing and Plagiarism Awareness LibGuide to help you create and manage your own reference lists.
AI is currently not able to produce accurate citations and references. AI tools make mistakes such as:
In addition, it may also cite or recommend sources that do not exist. Do not rely on any AI-generated references.
Microsoft Word and Microsoft Edge now feature an AI-powered feature called Editor. Editor carries out checks on spelling and grammar, but can also make suggestions on clarity, conciseness and more. Find out about Editor.
Grammarly is a digital writing assistant that provides real-time grammar, spelling, punctuation, style, and tone suggestions. It uses AI to enhance writing and is available as a web app, browser extension, and in integrations with platforms like Microsoft Word and Google Docs.
QuillBot is an AI-powered paraphrasing tool that helps users rewrite sentences and paragraphs to improve clarity, originality, and fluency. It offers various modes to suit different writing needs.
Chat GPT-powered browser extension that can generate summaries of web page text. Available for Chrome, Edge and Firefox.
Perplexity AI's aim is to act like a research assistant. Like other generative AI tools, you can ask it questions in natural, everyday language. Perplexity also cites the sources it has used to generate its summaries.
Zotero is a free, open-source research tool that helps users collect, organise, cite, and share research sources. It integrates with web browsers and word processors to streamline the citation process.
Inciteful is an online platform designed to help researchers and academics explore and analyse scholarly literature more effectively. It leverages advanced algorithms and AI to provide insights and connections between academic papers.
ResearchRabbit is a web-based tool designed to enhance the way researchers discover, manage, and engage with academic literature. It uses advanced algorithms and AI to provide personalised recommendations and dynamic tools for exploring and organising research papers.
Semantic Scholar is a free, AI-powered research tool designed to help researchers quickly find relevant information from a vast database of academic papers across various fields.
Elicit.org. is a specialised research discovery platform which uses artificial intelligence and machine learning to streamline the research process, making it easier to identify relevant papers, extract key information, and generate insights from vast amounts of academic content.
Dimensions is a research database and analytics platform that provides access to a wide range of scholarly content and tools to analyse research impact.
Litmaps is an online platform designed to help researchers and academics discover, track, and visualise scholarly literature over time.
Elicit.org. is a specialised research discovery platform which uses artificial intelligence and machine learning to streamline the research process, making it easier to identify relevant papers, extract key information, and generate insights from vast amounts of academic content.
Inciteful is an online platform designed to help researchers and academics explore and analyse scholarly literature more effectively. It leverages advanced algorithms and AI to provide insights and connections between academic papers.
Notion is an all-in-one workspace that integrates note-taking, task management, databases, and calendars. It allows for extensive customisation, enabling users to create personalised workspaces for various needs.
Todoist is a task management tool that helps users organise and prioritise tasks. It uses AI to provide productivity insights and reminders.
Evernote is a note-taking app that allows users to create, organise, and manage notes across devices. It includes features for clipping web content and scanning documents.
The Task component of the prompt defines what you want to tool to do.
Think about what you want the AI tool the do and then choose the action word.
The Topic provides the subject matter or the scenario in which the action should take place.
This component ensures that the response is relevant and focused. Be specific with your topic and make sure you include any context the tool will need (for example your notes, links or specific details).
The Structure outlines the format in which the response should be delivered
Think about how would you like the output presented.
The Style indicates the manner in which the content should be written.
Specifying the style ensures that the output aligns with the intended audience and purpose of the output.
The Level of detail specifies the depth and breadth of the information required.
Think about the intended audience for the information to help you decide how comprehensive the response should be.
Consult your Department's AI guidance or your tutor before using any AI tools for your assessed work.
Guidelines on using AI at Aberystwyth University for work and study.
|
Your assignment brief or module coordinator allows it |
 |
| You are using it as a study aid to prepare for presentations or exams | |
| You are using it to help your understanding of a subject or concept | |
| You're using it to help get you started on a piece of work | |
| You are using AI tools critically | |
| AI is doing all of your research or reading for you |  |
| AI is writing your assignment | |
| You've used AI tools without referencing them | |
| You have significantly edited your work using AI tools | |
Please consider your motivations and the impact of using AI on your own skills development and learning to help you decide whether it is appropriate.
Here’s a summary of ways Copilot can aid accessibility:
See real-life examples in Microsoft's Accessibility Scenario Library
Goblin.tools is a collection of simple, accessible tools designed to help with organisation and task management. The tools are aimed at breaking down tasks into manageable steps and helping users stay on track.
ChatPDF is an online platform that uses artificial intelligence to enable users to extract and interpret information from PDF documents as if they were having a conversation. Once the PDF is uploaded, users can type questions or commands related to the content of the document. The AI analyses the document and provides responses based on the information contained within the PDF.
Microsoft Word for Microsoft 365 and Word for the Web has built-in transcription tools. Aberystwyth University students and staff can access Word as part of Office365.
