During your time as a student, and particularly in postgraduate studies and subsequent careers, you may find it extremely useful to keep up-to-date with the latest developments, literature and events in your subject area. Such activities will enable you to include the latest ideas and findings in your dissertation, reports and presentations.
Today, there is a very wide range of web-based and social media facilities available to choose from to aid you in this task. Many services operate in the form of alerting services which will automatically deliver the latest information to you in the forms of e-mail or social media feeds. To register for these services, all you usually need to supply is a username (often in the form of an e-mail address) and your own selected password.
Please remember that as an Aberystwyth University student, while you can use your AU e-mail address to register for such services, it is not recommended that you use your AU password.
There are several different areas in which “keeping up-to-date” can be useful and the information below and the following page will look through a number of these: Keeping up to date in your subject area.
Have a look through the following tabs to see the many ways you can keep up to date.
Keep up to date with radio and television news. Contains more than 60+ radio and television channels.
The approximately five million newspapers, journals, books, pamphlets, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other resources held by CRL support original research and teaching. CRL holdings include materials from all world regions: Sub-Saharan Africa, Latin America, the Middle East, Central, South and Southeast Asia, North America, and Europe. While these shared collections are largely paper and microform, CRL provides online access to a continually expanding body of digital materials.
This is a package of three cross-searching platforms:
Database containing The Times (London) complete digital edition from 1785- 2012. It contains every complete page of each edition of the paper, including headings, articles and images of all content - front pages , editorial articles, birth and death notices, advertisements and minor advertisements.
You can browse our collection of newspapers in the library or view the comprehensive collection of past and current newspapers we subscribe to online:
Newspapers available electronically
Aberystwyth University subscribes to e-resources which give you access to many UK and international newspapers. Access them by logging in to Primo where you can find a list of current and past news sources in Databases A-Z, along with off-campus access information.
The list of resources includes:
This is a package of three cross-searching platforms:
Alerting services, also known as current awareness services or auto alerts, help you keep up to date with the latest developments in your field by notifying you when new information becomes available.
Subscribing to journal alerts, database alerts, and web alerts is a great way to stay up to date.
Journal alerts such as ZETOC or JournalTOCs will send you a table of contents of new issues of any journals you're interested in.You can also set up search alerts from many databases so that you are alerted by email whenever new articles matching your research interests are published.
JournalTOCs is the largest, free collection of scholarly journals Tables of Contents (TOCs).
Keep up to date with the latest news by reading the current printed science periodicals / journals. You can find them in the Physical Sciences Library. Many journals are available online too via Primo.
