Why use a journal article?
Academic journals contain the most up-to-date research in your area of study, some of which are listed here. More can be found through Primo, the library catalogue
Science
International Journal of Heat and Fluid Flow
Journal of Cosmology and Astroparticle Physics
Semiconductor Science and Technology
Journals provide important sources of academic information. You can search for journal articles using the Articles search in Primo.
Keep up to date with the latest news by reading the current printed science periodicals / journals. You can find them in the Physical Sciences Library. Many journals are available online too via Primo.
Aberystwyth Univeristy libraries subscribes to a wide range of e-journals.
Further information on electronic resources can be found here.
Visit the e-journals FAQs for additional information.
"MathSciNet is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. MathSciNet® contains almost 3 million items and over 1.7 million direct links to original articles. Bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to the early 1800s. Reference lists are collected and matched internally from approximately 550 journals, and citation data for journals, authors, articles and reviews is provided. This web of citations allows users to track the history and influence of research publications in the mathematical sciences."
Institute of Physics Books and Journals
"IOPscience has been designed to make it easy for researchers to discover relevant content and manage their research information. With IOPscience you can:
"MathWorld currently features a number of innovative interactive elements that enhance its usability for a variety of different readers. These features include:
Contains large collection of Mathematics, Physical Sciences and Engineering publications.
A full list of databases that Aberystwyth University provides can be found here
American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals Search
American Society for Microbiology (ASM) Journals
Cambridge Core (Journals and Books)
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Highwire Press (free papers)
Highwire Press (all titles browse)
PLoS Public Library of Science Journals
The Document Supply Service allows registered users to request items which are not available in the University Library. We can support staff and students with research and learning by locating and supplying books, chapters, and articles held by other libraries. Information Services will cover the costs of the allocation for the different user groups in all academic departments, subject to available funds.
Click here for further information and to see how many free requests you can order.
