You can find Information anywhere — books, diaries, social media, blogs, personal experiences, magazine articles, expert opinions, encyclopedias, and web pages — and the type of information you need will vary depending on the question you are trying to answer for your assignment or research.
Different assignments require information from a variety of sources; therefore, you need to understand where to go to find certain types of information. Knowing what type of source you need will also help you find the correct source.
There are three broad categories of sources:
Take a look through these tabs for definitions and a few examples.
Primary sources are original materials on which other research is based. They are firsthand documents that provide direct evidence on your topic.
News film footage
Tertiary sources are organisation, categorisation, index or collection of sources. A tertiary source presents summaries or condensed versions of materials, usually with references back to the primary and/or secondary sources.
Fact books and digests
Directories and guidebooks
Indexing and abstracting sources
Every time you get results from a database, you will need to manage them.
To avoid duplicating your searches again and again, save them!
Take a look through these tabs to find out more on how to save searches and records and how to go about emailing them to yourself.
If you find that you are repeatedly searching for the same word or phrase, you can save a search term to your Account on Primo.
In Primo, at the top of the search results page, you will see an option to Save query.
If you would like to be notified by email when new results are added to your search, click Turn on notification for this query on the banner that appears.
Click on the push pin icon which is located in the top right hand corner of the Primo page to go to your favourites, and then click the Saved Searches tab to view your saved searches:
You have the option to delete these saved searches whenever you wish by clicking on Unpin this search:
next to the search you wish to remove.
You can email your saved items to yourself too.
next to the title.
Why do you need to evaluate your sources?
Being able to evaluate the quality of the sources of information you find is an essential academic skill. It can help you to improve your critical thinking and reading abilities. If you improve your evaluation skills, then the quality of the information you find and use will increase.
Evaluating sources will help you to:
Consider these guidelines when reviewing your sources:
Before you start
Consider 3 questions:
Highlight the key terms or keywords in your assignment question. Think carefully about suitable keywords and synonyms which are alternative words that have a similar meaning that will enable you to find manageable amounts of relevant material - not so many results to cause information overload, or so few that you retrieve insufficient information.
Think about alternative words/phrases or synonyms you should include in your search in order to improve your search results.
If you were researching the failure of small business in the UK you could use the following keywords:
As well as searching for the UK, you might also search for:
Use a thesaurus for synonyms: https://www.powerthesaurus.org/
Some databases have a built-in thesaurus you can use to find alternative terms.
Think about if you can use acronyms or abbreviations in your search. These can be included in your search terms in order to find matching results.
Have a look at the following websites to find more abbreviations and acronyms:
There are over 230,000 entries and 81 categories such as business, medicine, science and international abbreviations and acronyms.
Acronym Finder is a searchable dictionary of over 330,000 acronyms and abbreviations.
Think about differences in spellings and terminology, and use alternatives into your search strategy.
Wildcard symbols can help with this:
See 'Using symbols ?' box in the right hand column for further information on how to do this.
Remember to type these operators in capital letters.
You are looking for information on cloning humans and cloning sheep. You could combine your operators as:
If you do not use the (parentheses) and search using the following cloning AND sheep OR human, your search will be processed as:
You can narrow your search results in databases by filtering the appropriate fields. For example clicking the Full Text Online option will show you just the items which you can access online directly through Primo.
You're telling the catalogue or database exactly what you want to be displayed.
Other examples to filter your results:
|Too many results||Too few results|
Truncation is another search technique you can use to find different word endings based on the root of a word. Truncate simply means to shorten something. When you are searching using truncation as a search technique, you will shorten or remove the ending of a particular word and leave behind just the root of that particular word which is shared by multiple terms so that the database will look for all the variations. You will not have to type all the different variations of the term as the database will search this for you in one go, rather than you making several separate searches.
The truncation symbol (*) retrieves any number of letters - useful to find different word endings based on the root of a word.
educat* will find and retrieve results containing educate, education, educational, educationalist.
agricultur* will find and retrieve results agriculture, agricultural, agriculturalist.
child* will find and retrieve results child, childs, children, childrens, childhood, childish, childlike.