Skip to main content
Chat now
Sgwrsiwch nawr

Business: Articles & key databases

Key Databases

Why use a Business database?

  • Find articles relevant to Business
  • All items have been reviewed before being included*
  • Option to filter by 'peer reviewed'
  • Available to Aberystwyth University staff and students on and off campus (will need VPN connection off-campus)

Recommended Business databases

*Business Source Complete contains access to over 3,000 journals. Covers all areas of business, including finance, management, management information systems, marketing and international business.

*Emerald Insight  - database covering major management disciplines such as marketing, HR, organisational development, library & information management, quality and operations management.

IBIS World - a great resource for UK company and industry sector information.

Other recommended general databases

Web of Science - arts and humanities, behavioural and social sciences, natural, physical and biomedical sciences, and some engineering.  Covers material published from 1970 onwards.

News

Gale General Onefile

Magazine, journal and news articles on general interest topics and current events.

BOB (Box of Broadcasts)

Catch up with radio and TV news. Over 60+ TV and radio channels covered.

Times Digital Archive 

A database containing the complete digital edition of The Times (London) from 1785- 2014. Contains every complete page of every issue of the newspaper, including headlines, articles and images from all content - front pages, editorials, birth and death notices, advertisements and classified ads.

Beyond Google Scholar? Why use a database?

Journal articles

Journals provide important sources of academic information.  You can search for ​journal articles using the ​Articles search ​in Primo.

Finding and using journal articles off-campus

Document Supply Service

The Document Supply Service allows registered users to request items which are not available in the University Library. We can support staff and students with research and learning by locating and supplying books, chapters, and articles held by other libraries. Information Services will cover the costs of the allocation for the different user groups in all academic departments, subject to available funds.

Click here for further information and to see how many free requests you can order.

Primo Search

Search In Primo

What is meant by peer reviewed?

Peer reviewed articles have been reviewed and accepted  by specialists in their field before being published.  This ensures that the journals maintain their reputation and the research quality is upheld.

Use the filter in Primo to narrow by 'Peer Reviewed' or search Emerald Insight to find only peer reviewed articles.

http://www.emerald.com/insight

How to access e-resources off campus

How are business journals ranked?

The Academic Journal Guide produced by Chartered Association of Business Schools (CABS) is a good place to start to gain a guide to a journals quality and ranking.

Many journals also add their (CABS) ranking or impact factor on their publisher's website.

Chartered Association of Business Schools -  Academic Journal Guide This guide is based upon peer review, editorial, and judgements by those specialists in the field.

There are a number of other lists/methods that can be found on the AACSB The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) website:

https://www.aacsb.edu/knowledge/resources/journal%20rankings  This list include Scopus, Web of Knowledge - citation reports and also includes the 'Journal Quality List'  https://harzing.com/resources/journal-quality-list ( collation of journal rankings from a variety of sources).