KD Law of the United Kingdom and Ireland
KJ European Law (incl. European Union Law)
KW European Documentation Centre
KX & KZ International Law
Criminology books : HV 6001-9960
Human rights JC571-599
Medical ethics R724-726 ; R852-853 ; RG133-135
Criminology by
Comprehensive and accessible, Tim Newburn's bestselling　Criminology　provides an introduction to the fundamental themes, concepts, theories, methods and events that underpin the subject and form the basis for all undergraduate degree courses and modules　in Criminology and Criminal Justice. This third edition includes: A new chapter on politics, reflecting the ever increasing coverage of political influence and decision making on criminology courses New and updated crime data and analysis of trends, plus new content on recent events such as the Volkswagen scandal, the latest developments on historic child abuse, as well as extended coverage throughout of the English riots A fully revised and updated companion website, including exam, review and multiple choice questions, a live Twitter feed from the author providing links to media and academic coverage of events related to the concepts covered in the book, together with links to a dedicated textbook Facebook page Fully updated to reflect recent developments in the field and extensively illustrated, this authoritative text, written by a leading criminologist and experienced lecturer, is essential reading for all students of Criminology and related fields.
Criminology 2e by
With its vibrant, student-focused approach and authoritative yet accessible coverage of all key topics, The Oxford Textbook on Criminology is the essential companion to exploring, explaining, and responding to crime. While other books simply impart information The Oxford Textbook on Criminology goes further, equipping readers with the confidence and skills to form their own views and treating them as fellow knowledge-generating criminologists.This highly engaging introduction supports undergraduates throughout their criminological journey, from their first encounter with the discipline to conducting independent research and considering career options. Its fresh, contemporary account of the subject includes chapters dedicated to the hot topics of global criminology, social harm, and green criminology, as well as 'New frontiers' boxes which highlight recent and emerging developments in each area.At every turn, concepts and theories are set into a real world context and readers are encouraged to unpick the issues. 'What do you think?' boxes challenge students to question their assumptions and critically reflect on their personal viewpoints, while 'Controversy and debate' and 'Conversations' boxes help students apply the knowledge they've gained. The authors' explanations are brought to life by the voices and experiences of a wide variety of people connected to criminology and the criminal justice system, from students and academics to police officers and crime victims.Digital formats and resourcesThe second edition is available for students and institutions to purchase in a variety of formats, and is supported by online resources.- The e-book offers a mobile experience and convenient access along with self-assessment activities, answers to the review questions, and links that offer extra learning support: www.oxfordtextbooks.co.uk/ebooks- These study tools that enhance the e-book are also available as stand-alone online resources for use alongside the print book.Online resources for students:- Over 300 multiple choice questions- Suggested answers to the end of chapter questions- Additional chapters on the criminal justice systems of the UK's devolved jurisdictions- Checklists, templates, and resources on academic writing; research ethics; and employability For lecturers:- Exam and essay questions for each chapter- Customizable PowerPoint slides for each chapter- A teaching pack for each chapter, containing ideas on how to use the book material in lectures and smaller groups- Downloadable versions of all figures in the book
Key Readings in Criminology by
Key Readings in Criminology provides a comprehensive single-volume collection of readings in criminology. It provides students with convenient access to a broad range of excerpts (over 150 readings) from original criminological texts and key articles, and is designed to be used either as a stand-alone text or in conjunction with the same author's textbook, Criminology. This volume can be used in a number of ways in support of the study of criminology: as a source of both 'key' and supplementary reading for lectures; as the basis for organized reading in advance of seminars and tutorials; as the basis for classroom discussion and analysis; as a broad source of reading for exam revision; in addition it provides students with access to a broad range of materials with which to follow up their reading of their main textbook; it includes readings that include more recent summaries of particularly important criminological issues, as well as excerpts from criminological classics; it also introduces students not only to criminological argument and debate, but also encourages them to read primary as well as secondary or summary sources.
Letters to a Law Student by
Learn the skills it takes to succeed as a law graduate with this essential text. Letters to a Law Student, 5th edition, Global Edition by Nicholas J McBride, provides a thorough introductory guide to higher education and learning context for law studies. Voted in the top 6 books that future law students should read, it is an approachable and easy-to-follow guidebook. The text flows as a series of letters between a lecturer and aspiring student, divided into chronological parts from thinking about a law degree to preparing to study law, studying law, writing like a lawyer, and thinking about the future. McBride adds practical advice throughout the book, supporting your transition from school to studying law as a first-year undergraduate. The 5th edition helps to build confidence and encourages the essential study and legal skills you will need to succeed. Packed with new and revised material, Letters to a law student remains a current and helpful reference. This text is a great companion for general law modules on skills, legal system, jurisprudence and law, government, and society to keep you thinking critically, analysing and understanding the law.
About Law by
This book provides an ideal introduction for anyone wondering whether to study law or those who are simply curious to know more about it. It is not confined to English law, but deals with the Western tradition of law as a whole. It outlines the key problems of constitutional law and the law ofproperty, contracts, treaties, crimes and torts. It also explains the importance of law of forms, procedures, and interpretation and examines how law relates to government, history, and justice. In this way it vividly brings out the intellectual and practical fascination of the subject. The book iseasy to read and the chapters are self-contained. Where possible, technical terms are avoided. When unavoidable, they are explained both in the text and in a glossary at the end of the book. The author is a leading lawyer, legal historian, and legal philosopher. During his career in Oxford he taughtmany hundreds of students and it is from this experience that the book is drawn.
This link takes you to the FAQ section on the Aberystwyth University webpage.This will help you learn how to access an e-book.
Panopto video on how to search for a journal articles on Primo
Video available here
Our extensive collections of electronic journals, databases and e-books are available to you 24/7 on and off-campus.
You know you have signed in successfully if your name displays at the top right hand of your screen.
You are now authenticated to access AU subscribed electronic resources. If you close your browser, you will need to sign into Primo again to re-authenticate.
For further information on accessing e-resources off-campus see FAQ 163.
