Skip to main content
Chat now
Sgwrsiwch nawr

Information Studies: Articles & key databases

Databases

Library Hub Discover
Search a database of 119 UK and Irish academic, national & specialist library catalogues.

 

Zetoc Alerts
A research database provided by the British Library with access to over 30,000  journals and also conference papers.  E-mail alerts can be set up for latest articles or journal titles related to your interests.

 

Mass Observation Online
Original manuscripts, typescript papers, printed publications and photographs.  Mostly covering 1937 - mid 1950's. The resouces provide an archive of social history.

Women in the National Archives

With two parts to this collection, the first the Finding Aid will enable researchers to quickly find details of documents relating to women's studies in the National Archives.  The second part of the collection contains original documents on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire and colonial territories.

Literature Online
Over 355,000 literary works along with key criticism and reference sources.  Also included are accurate collections of poetry, prose and drama along with full text journals and author biographies.

Archives Hub
The Archives Hub provides a single point of access to descriptions of archives held in 167 UK repositories. The Archives Hub forms one part of the UK's National Archives Network. An important aspect of the work of the Archives Hub is to provide training and advice on issues relating to electronic cataloging of archives.

Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH)
(see box below on how to access off-campus using Primo VPN).

The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.  Further help using BBIH available: https://www.history.ac.uk/publications/bibliography-british-and-irish-history/using-bbih-online-a-help-pack-students-and

Connected Histories: British History Sources 1500-1900
Connected Histories brings together a range of digital resources related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain with a single federated search that allows sophisticated searching of names, places and dates.

EBSCO Education package (Includes British Education Index and ERIC)
The EBSCO Education package includes the British Education Index, Child Development & Adolescent Studies, ERIC (Education Resource Information Center), Education Abstracts and Educational Administration Abstracts.

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)
The IMB was established in 1967, and is the leading interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages.   It covers periodical literature and miscellany volumes published in Europe, North America, Australasia, Brazil, Japan and South Africa. 

JISC Historical Texts
Historical Texts brings together three historically significant collections for the first time: Early English Books Online (EEBO), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) and 65,000 texts from the British Library 19th Century collection.

JISC Manuscripts Online : written culture 1000 to 1500
Manuscripts Online enables you to search a diverse body of online primary resources relating to written and early printed culture in Britain during the period 1000 to 1500. The resources include literary manuscripts, historical documents and early printed books which are located on websites owned by libraries, archives, universities and publishers.

John Johnson Collection
This collection provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Categories include Nineteenth-Century Entertainment, the Booktrade, Popular Prints, Crimes, Murders and Executions, and Advertising.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
This is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.

Library Hub Discover

Search a database of 119 UK and Irish academic, national & specialist library catalogues.

Resources needing Primo VPN access

The following resources will require you to login to the Primo VPN before you can access them off-campus;

 

  • AIP
  • APS
  • ASM
  • BBC Listener Research
  • BBIH & IMB
  • CABI
  • IBIS World
  • ICLR
  • MathSciNet

 

  1. Follow the Primo VPN link and sign in https://primo-vpn.aber.ac.uk/%20  
  2. Select the Primo box and additionally sign in to Primo
  3. Keep the same browser window open (multiple tabs ok) and launch the resource you require

*The full list of A-Z resources and links can be found on the A-Z of E-Resources page on Primo: primo.aber.ac.uk/

 

When you have finished researching with Primo VPN, remember to close the browser as Primo VPN can inhibit your access to other resources 

Beyond Google Scholar? Why use a database?

Focus your search for articles

LISA (Library & Information Science Abstracts) - Chance to focus your searching and results to librarianship literature.  International coverage of over 300 journal articles, updated monthly and includes articles from 1969 to present day.

Find relevant articles

  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO) - indexed back to mid-1960’s, over 600 journals indexed (some cover to cover others selectively), Includes both scholarly journals and professional magazines, along with technical journals, conference proceedings, books and research reports.
  • LISA (Library and Information Science Abstracts) - indexed back to 1969, over 400 journals indexed, which includes scholarly journals, professional magazines and technical journals.
  • Web of Science – searches a core collection of databases, which includes the Social Sciences citation index from 1956 and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities from 1990 - present.
  • Business Source Complete - contains access to over 3,000 journals. Covers all areas of business, including finance, management, management information systems, marketing and international business.
  • Emerald Insight - database covering major management disciplines such as marketing, HR, organisational development, library & information management, quality and operations management.

Library Hub Discover

Library Hub Discover

Search a database of 119 UK and Irish academic, national & specialist library catalogues.

Primo Search

Search In Primo

How to access e-resources off campus

Finding and using journal articles off-campus

Struggling to find the full text of the article you need?

Try the following tips;

  • Search using the journal title in the main search box in Primo.
  • Use quotation marks around the journal title Eg. "Journal of Documentation" to search for the journal title as a phrase.
  • The journal may be available in print only and you can place a request for a copy of the article you need (Distance Learners only). Distance Learner request form for journal articles.
  • If the print and online are not available use Document Supply to request the full article.