Skip to main content
Chat now
Sgwrsiwch nawr

Biological, Environmental and Rural Sciences & BVSc: Books and E-books

Off-Campus access

Our extensive collections of electronic journals, databases and e-books remain available to you 24/7 on and off-campus.

Before you start any searching off-campus:

sign in to Primo

You know you have signed in successfully if your name displays at the top right hand of your screen.

You are now authenticated to access AU subscribed electronic resources. If you close your browser, you will need to sign into Primo again to re-authenticate.

For further information on accessing e-resources off-campus see FAQ 163.

Access to e-resources off-campus

Examples of e-books

Document Supply

The Document Supply Service allows registered users to request items which are not available in the University Library.

What to do if you want  to submit a document supply request :

If you’re looking for a book or article that we don’t have access to in our collections, we might be able to borrow it for you from another library. Submit your request using the Document Supply button in Primo, and we’ll do the rest.

Further information and online forms are available on the Document Supply webpage: https://www.aber.ac.uk/en/is/library-services/documentsupply/ 

Click and Collect Service

pile of assorted-color books

Information on our Click and Collect service is available at https://www.aber.ac.uk/en/is/library-services/cac. Please read this page carefully before using the service. We can only provide this service if our users abide by our new guidelines outlined on this page.  

 

The Click and Collect service operates on Level D, Hugh Owen Library. More information available at this webpage: https://www.aber.ac.uk/en/is/library-services/cac

Further information on using this service can be found in our Click and Collect FAQS 

More information on Click and Collect Service safety can be found by visiting this webpage: https://www.aber.ac.uk/en/is/library-services/cac/

Chapter digitisation

In response to COVID-19 and whilst access to materials in the library is limited, a temporary chapter digitisation service has been introduced.

More information on the service and the online request form can be found here: https://www.aber.ac.uk/en/is/library-services/digitisation/chapterdigitisation/ 

Here is an FAQ with details on how to request a chapter: https://faqs.aber.ac.uk/3069 

E-books

Aberystwyth University libraries subscribe to a wide range of e-books and e-book collections.

We have 1000s of e-books and our collection is regularly growing. You can access our e-books via Primo. In the search box enter one or two key words from the title and the surname of the author. When the search results appear you can choose to click Full text online in the Tweak my results menu on the left to display results for ebooks only.

If we have access to an electronic version of a book, the Primo record will state Online Access

Click on our Electronic Books webpage for further information and for instructions on:

How to Access e-Books

How to access e-books 

All the e-books can be found in the Primo Library catalogue. Enter your keywords and when you see Online Access against the books you're after, select to either read online or download the entire book. 

Remember to sign in to Primo VPN first! (Instructions opposite).

Item you want not available electronically?

If you need a book but can't get access please place a request through: 

We will do our best to source an electronic copy for you.

  • You can make multiple requests.

  • We will automatically purchase additional copies of any “simultaneous user” e-book that has run out of credits and any “managed-user access” e-book that has more than one person waiting to use it.

Primo Search

Search In Primo

Temporary access to online resources

While UK academic libraries are closed, some publishers have offered free access to their online collections.

After being selected and switched on at institutional level by the Library, links to these resources will be added to this list: 

Online resources available temporarily while physical access to the Library is affected

Please note the end dates supplied.

Other key e-book databases

​Below are key databases for e-books:​